NordicFantasy wins award

NordicFantasy.info may be the only blog of its kind on the net, but it surely isn’t alone in covering fantasy and horror in the the blogosphere. That’s why it is an honour and great fun to win an award!

liebster-award-gifThere are millions of movie blogs out there, but recently NordicFantasy.info was nominated for the Liebster Award. The award is given to new and upcoming blogs (not sure how new you must be to be nominated) and this site was nominated by Noah Patterson over at his A Slice of Horror which of course is also about horror films! The Liebster Award works in such a way that if you are nominated, you automatically win the award if you choose to accept it, so it’s great fun to announce that NordicFantasy.info now has won the Liebster Award!

Actually, the award works like a chain letter where, if you are nominated and accept the award, must nominate other blogs, and also link bank to the blog that nominated you. There’s nothing wrong in helping other blogs out, as we’re all in this for fun and most of us are only rewarded by seeing that visitors read our pages.

As a Liebster winner, I now have to answer 11 questions. Below the answers are my own Liebster Award nominations.

1. What angers you the most when watching a movie in theaters?
That’s a given! People who use their mobile phones, with or without sound, or make too much noise with candy wrappers. You’re there to enjoy a movie, not to stuff your face with popcorn or jellybeans. I must say, people who answer their phones during a movie are idiots, but they also have idiot friends, because this is what I’ve heard in cinemas: “Hi there…. I’m in the cinema, watching a movie…. No, you’re not disturbing…. So, tell me, did you buy that new car yet?” If I was that friend, I would have hung up.

2. What do you love about watching movies in theaters?
It’s the overall feeling and the ambiance of being exposed to big images and loud surround. It’s a social event as much as watching a movie. I actually prefer watching movies at home in the comfort on my own sofa, but it’s fun to go out sometimes, and make a thing out of it.

3. Name a movie you never want to watch. Ever.
Any musical. Though I was tricked to see Mama Mia, and I did see the one with Johnny Depp, just because it had blood in it.

4. Name a movie you’re ashamed you haven’t seen yet.
I have not seen the Lord of the Rings trilogy yet. I should probably be in the Guinnes Book of Records for that. I’ve just not had time, in spite of having been a movie reviewer for nearly two decades. However, last weekend my girlfriend promised she would watch all the movies back-to-back with me the next weekend, so maybe when you read this, I’ve seen the movies finally.

5. Favorite weekend hangout?
Most of my interests and hobbies (and even work) is computer-based or information-based, so I spend most weekends at home, watching movies, reading, listening to music, and so on. Although the family cabin in a dark, remote forest is where I want to be, had it not been for the distance of 600 kilometers.

6. Favorite band or music artist for the past week?
I don’t listen to chart music or one-hit wonders or “artists or the week”. While I used to work for radio stations and have some of that music in my collection, I mostly listen to electronic and ambient music, film soundtracks (not the ones with pop tunes in them) and classical music. My favourite artists are Jean Michel Jarre, Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Sigmund Groven, occasionally Sarah Brightman and Erasure, and when in cheesy mode, 80s bubblegum pop and 90s eurodance. Sometimes you want a greasy burger, not a filet mignon! A lot of other people into horror movies listen to hard rock, but I was never there.

7. 3D. Yay or Nay?
Nay. No. Nope. Nada. Never. Get it? I’ve never been impressed with 3D, not even in Gravity (it was good, but was it really necessary?). Most of the time it distracts from the story (not me, but the director and/or writer) and the films are usually focused on action that looks good in 3D rather than having a good story and great performances. 3D won’t bring anything new to cinema before it becomes 4D and full immersion.

8. Name a movie you wish you could have been on the set while it was filming.
Either the Norwegian historical action-drama Pathfinder, or the best movie in the world, which is Pinchcliffe Grand Prix. Look it up! It’s the perfect film, masterfully crafted and has absolutely everything in it. George Lucas stole ideas from it.

Actually, I am not too keen on studying all the technical details of movie making. I do watch documentaries and read books on the topic, but I don’t like it too much, because it kinda ruins the magic of movies. When you know too much about something that is an artistic experience, you change your views. Things that didn’t matter before, start to matter. It can change for the better, but not always. So, I reluctantly watch making-of extras. However, I have a secret dream of being a film producer, so I guess there is no way around being on set, at least mentally.

9. How do you stream movies (computer, Blu-Ray player, game consoles like PS4 and Wii)?
I don’t stream movies. I prefer to watch them on the TV from discs. Maybe I’m just too old to bother about streaming, even if I have 100 mbit internet here, LOL! I like to have the physical product in my hand, and most of my friends are into movies too, so if they visit, we can discuss movies from the collection. You don’t do that in the same way when you have streams to talk about.

10. What are your top five favorite movie podcasts to listen to?
I almost never listen to podcasts. I read a lot of film blogs and websites, but when it comes to radio, I like oldfashioned talk radio about topics not related to film.

11. Who is your movie celebrity crush? You have to answer for both guys and girls.
Hm…. Do I need to limit myself to one? No? Well, Angelina Jolie of course. Milla Jovovich, naturally. Natasha Henstridge, she’s a given. And if you only think I like the young ones, Charlotte Rampling is one hell of an actress. She’s not only great looking even at her age, but she’s got a style that almost nobody has. She was probably the world’s most beautiful woman in the 70s.

Man-crush, hm…. Gotta say Roger Moore, my favourite Bond and a very funny guy. I’ve met him, actually. Coincidentally I also like Sean Connery, as does everyone else, I guess. He’s great even if the movie is bad. I also like Sam Neill who most people know from Jurassic Park but he’s a very versatile actor. Not sure if I would call it a man-crush, but there you go.

And finally, my own nominations. These blogs are all within the movie curcuit, as that is my main interest nowadays. These guys anf girls do a great job in promoting movies, old and new, good and bad.

http://blackholereviews.blogspot.se
http://fredanderson.typepad.com
http://cinezilla.blogspot.com
http://dayofwoman.blogspot.dk
http://horrophobic.blogspot.se
http://titsandascream.blogspot.no
http://sorensencinema.blogspot.dk (in Danish)
http://rymdfilm.wordpress.com (in Swedish)
http://www.spektakulart.se (in Swedish)

I am tempted to nominate www.VikingMovies.com also but because I run that one myself, I’m probably too biased, haha!

Good luck to them!

Leave a Reply

